Real Thai Food in Umhlanga? hmmmm

So I have been MIA for a little while now (hope you guys missed me!) which I do apologize for, however I was very busy dealing with some family matters… as well as celebrating Navarathri and Diwali.

But I am back, and as inspired as ever after finding a little piece of Thai heaven right on our doorstep… well not exactly, but near enough!

We decided we needed a quick getaway and after what felt like the longest drive to Umhlanga Rocks ever… Ash and I were in desperate need of lunch! (a bit late for lunch but nonetheless). We had walked past Siam previously but had gotten caught in a nasty storm so we could not pop in when it first crossed our eyes, and also after our previous bad experience with Thai food in Durban we were not feeling like being disappointed. 

Today we decided to give it a bash. Being who I am (just a little bit of a snob), I resolved that whilst everything looked authentic, I would just order a starter and gauge whether or not the food would be worth my time ordering a main. I ordered the angry buns (angry duck in a bun) and ash stuck to his favorite fish cake starter. He also ordered a pad thai for his main meal. (I was still not comfortable ordering a main, so I though I would just have a bite from him and decide thereafter.)

Perhaps a bit of a rural move from my side, but the moment my angry buns arrived, before our waitress could even serve Ashwins fish cakes to him, I had already gotten my chopsticks out and stuffed half a bun in my mouth. (yep I am that foodie crazy starving always person!) Having barely even swallowed I placed my hand on the waitresses arm to ensure she did not leave the table before hearing what I had to say… The words just spilled out of me in complete awe “oh my word, its actual proper thai flavors, please get me a main meal”. She smirked and was happy to add to our dishes!

 

Needless to say, the words between our mouthfuls where minimal! I mean just look at that yumminess!

I literally had to pack away half of my meal, because I knew if I continued eating, I would never get to have dessert…. and the coconut cream pie sounded too divine to be missed…. excellent call from my side because it was totally worth the doggy bag which happily became dinner that evening 😉

Ash chose to try their rolled ice-cream, which mind you he tried for the first time whilst we were in Cambodia! At that time he was suffering from a mild heat stroke! but lets not remind him of that day because I am hoping to head back there next year!

I think the most important question when it comes to a restaurant is whether or not we would go back there…. well since we discovered this gem, we have bought take out twice and returned for dinner the following weekend… and you can bet your passport on it, that we will be returning soon!

 

Get in touch with the restaurant to book your table now … 031 561 1237

Leave a comment